Email Us

01428 654305


The Mayor


Councillor Malcolm Carter was elected as Haslemere's Town Mayor in May 2017 and will hold the position until May 2018.  His Mayoress is Mrs Sandie Carter.

The Mayor is Haslemere's first citizen and is elected annually at the May Full Council meeting.  Once elected he/she remains in office for one year.

The Town Mayor chairs the Full Council meetings and represents the town at civic and ceremonial functions.  
He/she acts as an ambassador for Haslemere, promoting and upholding the character of the town, and supporting community groups and projects.

Every year the Mayor chooses a charity for which he/she wishes to raise funds during the mayoral year. This year's charities chosen by Councillor Malcolm Carter are local charities Canine Partners , 3 Counties Money Advice and The Haslemere Penny Ha’penny Trust.


  Canine   HPHPT  MDS

If you would like the Mayor to attend an event please contact the Mayor's Secretary.  Please also read our Mayor's Protocol guidance which provides information and guidance on the correct protocol to follow when the Mayor attends your event.  This will help to ensure that the occasion runs as smoothly as possible and you get the most out of your time with the Mayor.


The Deputy Mayor

The Deputy Mayor for 2017/2018 is Councillor David Round; the Deputy Mayoress is Councillor Melanie Odell MBE.


Mayoral Roll of Honour

Below is a list of all Mayors from 2000 to the present day.

  • 2016/17          Mr Sahran Abeysundara
  • 2015/16          Mrs Melanie Odell MBE
  • 2014/15          Mrs Penny Bradley
  • 2013/14          Mrs Libby Piper
  • 2012/13          Mrs Cyndy Lancaster
  • 2011/12          Mr Jim Edwards
  • 2010/11          Mrs Melanie Odell
  • 2009/10          Mrs Melanie Odell
  • 2008/09          Mr William King
  • 2007/08          Mr Stephen Mulliner
  • 2006/07          Mr Brian Howard
  • 2005/06          Mr Michael Dover
  • 2004/05          Mrs Jean Arrick
  • 2003/04          Mr Michael Foster
  • 2002/03          Mr Stephen Mulliner
  • 2001/02          Mr Michael Barnes
  • 2000/01          Mrs Fay Foster


footer logo
Haslemere Town Hall, High Street, Haslemere, GU27 2HG
01428 654305 Email Us